Avoid these Seven Grains when Gluten Free
As a teenager living gluten free, I have learned about seven grains which will have negative effects on my body if I were to eat them. I did not know much about many of these grains before I started this post, as many people I meet do not.
While on a tour of Bob’s Red Mill with my mother and aunt, I was able to see all seven of these grains in person.
Learn How to Avoid these Seven Grains When Gluten Free
Wheat is the most widely used (and I think the most widely known) of the seven grains. As a relative of grass, wheat is widely used in commercial markets from cereal and pastries to doors. (I admit I was surprised to learn doors can be made from wheat!) The berries from wheat (also known as wheat berries) can be cooked like Farro since wheat shares similarities with Farro grains.
Rye is a close relative of wheat and barley. It is used in making breads like pumpernickel. It is also used in alcoholic drinks including rye beer and whiskey.
Barley is found in many baked goods and commercially processed foods. It is what barley malt is made from. Barley malt is found in many cereals. It is also used in the making of many beers along with hops. It can also be used in many of the same ways as Farro (mentioned below).
Spelt is a species of wheat which is considered – by some – to be a subspecies of the widely used common wheat. As one of three species of wheat, spelt is part of the Farro group. When in Germany and Switzerland, be sure to ask if spelt has been used in what you are ordering, as it is commonly used throughout both countries. It can sometimes be mistaken for barley due to the similar size of the grain.
Kamut™ refers to Khorasan wheat, which is an ancient species of wheat originally grown in Ancient Egypt. As a trademarked species here in the United States, there are strict growing and labeling requirements. Currently, it is only grown commercially in Montana. It is not a widespread grain, yet. It is known best for its rich and nutty flavor.
Triticale is a genetic hybrid of wheat and rye. Its name comes from wheat (Triticum), and rye (Secale). Currently, its main use is for feed and fodder.
Not actually a grain, but a group of three wheat species: Emmer, Einkorn, and Spelt. Emmer wheat, chiefly grown in the Garfagnana area of the Tuscany region, (in Italy) is called ‘true’ Farro. Emmer is used in making Tuscan dishes such as Farro soup or Farro salad. The other two Farro grains can be mistaken for barley.
How Many Grains Did You Recognize?
Until my tour of Bob’s Red Mill, I had only heard of four of these grains. It was an eye-opener for me. Learning about these seven grains has made me aware of other ingredients to avoid.
Read Labels and Ask Questions to Avoid these Seven Grains When Gluten Free
I hope that this guide has helped to explain how to avoid seven grains when gluten free. It does get tiresome reading the label on each product in the store when shopping. Reading the labels and asking questions reduces the possibility of being “glutened.” (“Glutened” is what my father calls it when he gets gluten due to cross-contamination or by accident.)
Please share your experiences in the comments!
~Gluten Free Eagle~